Return to site

Eligibility Criteria for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) is a serious step by the Indian government to abolish homelessness from the country.


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana ensures to provide a home to every homeless person in India. In order to do so, the government:

  • Provides financial support to the homeless who cannot beat the cost of a residential property.
  • Offers homes to Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) of the Indian society.
  • Brings public and private sector together for improving the condition of the country’s urban poor natives.

Eligibility Criteria for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

  • People who earn less than INR 3 lakh annually come under the EWS section.
  • People who come under the LIG category and have an annual income in between INR 3 lakh to 6 lakh.  
  • Those who have an annual income below INR12 lakh and fall under the Medium Income Group I or II.
  • People who belong to minority groups, such as SC/ST/OBC.
  • Women falling under EWS or LIG categories are also considered under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana scheme.

Following people are eligible under PMAY scheme:

To acquire the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana subsidy in 2019, the applicants must provide the needed, certified documents. Moreover, there is also a basic requirement for each applicant. For example, if a beneficiary is applying as a family, it must include a husband, wife and unmarried children. Plus, no person from that family must own property or house in their name.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly