Return to site

What are the sections under PMAY and their eligibility criteria with respect to income?

· PMAY,PMAY scheme

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana or PMAY is the government of India initiative where affordable housing will be provided to the poor. The initiative targets building 20 million affordable houses by 31 March 2022.

Factors Affecting the Eligibility Criteria of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

Household income, the demographic position of the house one wishes to buy along with its total carpet area are some factors affecting the eligibility criteria of the Pradhan Mantri Yojana. PMAY can be divided into PMAY-U and PMAY-G, which can further be divided into subcategories.

Eligibility Criteria for PMAY-U

PMAY-U (urban) can be divided into EWS (Economic Weaker Sections), LIG (Low Income Group), and MIG (Medium Income Group). There are two categories of MIG namely MIG-I and MIG-II. Here are the eligibility criteria for each section.

EWS and LIG: annual household income must lie between Rs.3 Lakh and Rs.6 Lakh.

MIG-I: annual household income must be Rs.6 Lakh to Rs.12 Lakh.

MIG-II: annual household income should be Rs.12 Lakh to Rs.18 Lakh.

Eligibility Criteria for PMAY-G

To be eligible for the PMAY-G (gramin), the beneficiary’s name must appear in the list prepared by the census of 2011. The government officials tabulate the beneficiaries from census details and sends it across individual Gram Sabhas and Panchayats across the country for verification. If approved, it then becomes the final eligibility list of Pradhan Mantri Yojana - Gramin beneficiaries for that particular rural area.

To qualify for this initiative, the beneficiary should not own a pucca house nor should have availed any PMAY-CLSS subsidy from any PLI.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly